WEDA announces “Champion of Economic Development” award winners

WEDA has officially unveiled its new legislative awards program by announcing the 2018 “Champion of Economic Development” award winners. The award is presented to state legislators who exemplify WEDA’s mission of promoting economic development and have shown a commitment to making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and do business through policies that advance economic growth. The award will be given out every two years following the end of each legislative session.

WEDA is presenting the award to 20 state lawmakers in 2018 who exhibited an exceptional commitment to growing Wisconsin’s economy based on several factors, including voting record, sponsorship of legislation and responsiveness to critical economic development issues during the 2017-18 session. Here is the list of the 2018 “Champion of Economic Development” award winners:

  • Rep. Peter Barca (D-Kenosha)
  • Rep. Jill Billings (D-La Crosse)
  • Rep. Rob Brooks (R-Saukville)
  • Rep. Mike Kuglitsch (R-New Berlin)
  • Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton)
  • Rep. Dave Murphy (R-Greenville)
  • Rep. Adam Neylon (R-Pewaukee)
  • Rep. Tod Ohnstad (D-Kenosha)
  • Rep. Warren Petryk (R-Eleva)
  • Rep. Romaine Quinn (R-Barron)
  • Rep. Mike Rohrkaste (R-Neenah)
  • Rep. Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit)
  • Rep. Dave Steffen (R-Green Bay)
  • Rep. Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City)
  • Sen. Janet Bewley (D-Ashland)
  • Sen. Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac)
  • Sen. Jerry Petrowski (R-Marathon)
  • Sen. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville)
  • Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton)
  • Sen. Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point)

WEDA will be presenting the awards to legislators in their home districts with the participation of WEDA staff and local members. Earlier this week, WEDA presented the “Champion of Economic Development” award to Rep. Jill Billings (D-La Crosse) at the La Crosse Area Development Corporation’s Economic Forum.